In July, Google unveiled its capabilities Block other users In Drive. The company is extending this feature to include notifications for comments and notifications in Google Docs, Sheets and Slides. You will not be notified if the user you have blocked in Drive mentions you in comments or action items on documents, sheets or slides. This applies to both email and in-app notifications.

Blocking someone in Google Drive prevents them from sharing any Drive items with you. It also prevents other users from sharing content with that user. Additionally, when browsing Google Drive, you will not see any of their items. Note that the same restrictions apply to you. You will not be able to share your Drive items with users you have blocked unless you first block them. According to Google, you cannot block users or trusted domains within the same domain.

Blocking Google Drive feature pop-up notification

However, the company is now building on this capability, at least in Drive or other Google Workspace tools. According to the company, “This feature makes it more predictable and comprehensive.”

Google Blog post Announcing this change, however, suggests that a blocked user may still refer you to Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides. You will not receive a notification about it. But if you want, you can skip this by subscribing to all comments manually.

Google’s Drive Blocking feature extends notifications from documents, sheets and slides

The ability to block other users is an essential feature of every digital product. Scammers are ready to spam or harass you anywhere. Google Drive’s open sharing and collaboration system makes it easy for spam attacks. So the company got a much-needed break for many users by adding a blocking feature earlier this year. Now, with the new update, Google is making block drive even more important.

This feature will be available to everyone. Google Workplace clients, G Suite Basic and business customers as well as users with personal Google accounts. The release began earlier this week and will reach all users in both the instant releases and the planned release domains over the next two weeks. Google says there is no administrator control for this feature, and it is enabled for all users by default.